Fear, Faith, Family and Photography

F.E.A.R – False Evidence Appearing Real

It doesn’t seem to matter what area of my life I look at there is one thing that is constant; I have a fear that I will look bad at whatever it is I’m doing. I’m competitive by nature and regardless of what it is whether sports, teaching, or photography I want  to be good at it.  Even though I bought my first camera 20 years ago and have taken thousands of photographs I still have doubts about what I’m doing.   So, to finally get the courage to work on and build a web site, tweet and now blog, I think I now know how a musician or singer feels when they get on stage for the first time.  Am I good enough? Will they laugh? What will the critics say?

Bass River, New Brunswick

“The key to failure is trying to please everybody.” Bill Cosby

I was comforted recently to know that I’m not the only one that feels this way from time to time. I was in a meeting explaining that I was feeling self-conscience in a class I was teaching when a Pastor and friend, said that they feel that way every Monday after preaching a sermon.  I thought that was interesting coming from someone who does public speaking for a living. They still worry after all the years of training and practice, will the message be remembered and applied or will the audience only remember the mistakes they made.

High Tide - Campobello Island, New Brunswick

So what are your fears and what are your talents?  Are your fears keeping you from using your talents?  Letting go of a fear is a challenge for many of us but you might be surprised by who you encourage. Take baby steps might be a cliché but it’s true.  It’s OK to start out small. Do you sing, dance, paint, or maybe like photography too?  Use your talent and encourage those around you to chase their dreams and to use their talents also.

I hope I never lose sight of my original reason for getting into photography; it isn’t to sell as much as I can, but to inspire those who view it. I want to remind others that we have an incredible amount of beauty around us and we need to take the time to enjoy it, and to take care of it.

I’m grateful to my friends and family who have encouraged me, to those who have mentored and still shoot with me.  I wouldn’t be at the point I am without all of you.

God-beams - PEI National Park

“What saves a man is to take a step. Then another step. “C. S. Lewis

Leave a Reply

