Fear, Faith, Family and Photography – Part II

Genesis 2:15; Then the Lord God took the man and put him in the Garden of Eden to farm the land and to take care of it.

When it comes to my photography, faith can have a double meaning.  I can have faith that what I am taking a photograph of will be accepted as beautiful and inspiring by a viewer or I can let my faith be my motivation. As I travel looking for unique places and subjects I have the hope that the observer will not only enjoy the visual aspect of the image but also be encouraged to be a better steward of the gift God has given us.  I don’t want to just create an photograph I want to generate a sense of awe in the viewer; not in what I’ve done but in what the Creator has done.  I didn’t create anything I just stole His ideas.

For me, it’s my faith that is my motivation.  As a Christian I believe that we have a Creator and He created all the beauty we have all around us and he has trusted us to take care of it.  As the father of a daughter who is asthmatic it troubles me that there are still so many people who still don’t understand our environmental situation and see what we are doing to our planet.  By no means am I a scientist, but I volunteer with several environmental organizations and have seen the damage first hand. I have also seen what it’s done to my daughter on several trips and overnight stays in the hospital. I’m not saying I believe everything I read or hear on the news but I have seen enough to say we are certainly not helping the situation.

Sunrise on Robertson Lake, Saint John, New Brunswick - I didn't notice the garbage in the corner until I got home. Sometimes we don't see the problem until it's too late.

Proverbs 31:8; “Speak up for those who cannot speak for themselves, for the rights of all who are destitute.

In a little less than a year from now I hope to be in Kenya with a few others from my local church assisting a village with a water project and helping refugees start business to provide for their families. What I’m really looking forward to is the opportunity to photograph the people and the country itself.  I realize that I take a lot for granted, even the simple ability to go to a store and buy whatever I want when I’m hungry.  Going to Kenya and recording a story of the people with my camera and bringing the images back will not only be an additional motivation for me. I hope it encourages those who view them to do just one more thing, to make a difference.

The 3 Churches - Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia

The 3 Churches - Mahone Bay, Nova Scotia - The story of "The Church" caring for creation should be central everywhere

1 John 3:18; My children, we should love people not only with words and talk, but by our actions and true caring.

I need to keep reminding myself what’s really important.  It’s not new stuff, selling another print or the fame.  It’s really about my family, my faith and helping others. What’s this have to do with photography?  Again it comes back to what is my motivation.  Do I just want to sell a print? Do I want to only become famous?  I’ll admit it, it sounds wonderful in some ways but it also scares me because it distracts me from my purpose. I believe we have an opportunity and we can make things better. I also believe there is an incredible story to be told and it just happens that my camera helps me tell it.

Osprey, Deer Island, New Brunswick. - We all need a vision.

Luke 9:25; “For what does it profit a man, if he gains the whole world and ruins or forfeits (loses) himself?”

By Brian Comeau

2 comments on “Fear, Faith, Family and Photography – Part II

  1. Judging by the shape of the bill and the tail it looks like this is actually a photograph of a bald eagle, not an osprey… the wings also look a bit more like eagle wings… wider. Bald Eagles are also fishing birds, and will often be seen in the same areas as Osprey

    Nice silhouette of a raptor in flight

    • Thank you for the compliment on the photo. I really appreciate. The scene happened pretty fast and I thought I recalled the underbelly being spotted like an Osprey but I can’t say for certain… Maybe I’ll have to rename it “The Raptor”…

Leave a Reply

