Time of Reflection

“God’s miracles are to be found in nature itself; the wind and waves, the wood that becomes a tree – all of these are explained biologically, but behind them is the hand of God.”   Ronald Reagan

Fall is a bitter sweet time for me. It means the end of hot summer nights, the end of beach combing days and late evening sunsets.  It means that winter is soon to arrive with snow and ice and minus 20 degree (minus 40 with the wind-chill) days.  But it also brings spectacular colors and frosty designs that come with the change of temperature.  It means I need to get out as much as possible with my family to enjoy a cool hike and all the sights and wildlife that summer foliage conceals. I’ll admit that with the onset of colder weather I become a little bear-like and take the odd photographic hibernation.

Park Point Reflection, Deer Island, New Brunswick

Through out the year I love to look for images of water or create images from reflections in the water. This is especially true in the fall with the change of season bringing bright colours, leafless trees and newly formed ice. The addition of fog coming off the local rivers and the Bay of Fundy add to the drama of the scene.  There is something magnetic about the water to me.  Maybe I feel this way because we humans have such a dependence on it.

Heron - Lunnenburg, Nova Scotia

The reflections in a body of water seem to not only enhance the image but also emphasize the fragility of the places we live.  It seems ironic sometimes as I read the news there are so many in the world who are in dire need of rain and others who wish it would just stop.   As I’ve said before, when I create an image it’s with the hope that the viewer has a greater appreciation of the gift that God has given us.  This is especially true for our water.

Fall Reflections - Musquash Marsh, Musquash, New Brunswick

Last fall I had the opportunity to spend several days working with an organization called Blue Legacy that was started by Alexandra Cousteau.  During the few days I spent with Alexandra and her group I heard several amazing stories about water issues around the world.  Some are still sad while others have the potential for a happy ending, but we’ll have to wait and see.  In one of her speeches, Alexandra gave a suggestion that I made the point to do with my family this past summer.  If you want to show your family that water is not an inexhaustible resource take them to the lake or watershed that fills your tap.  It was a great object lesson for my kids.  When they looked at the lake it may have seemed enormous but when I explained that 50,000 people all need to share it, it started to look a whole lot smaller.

Sunset Reflection - Mud Lake Bog, Quispamsis, New Brunswick

The process for taking a photograph is no longer only about depth of field, focal length, or shutter speed; they have become secondary. For me it is about the time of reflection and appreciating the gift we have been given.

2 comments on “Time of Reflection

Leave a Reply

