Shine

Without light photography would be a lot less exciting, and as
photographers we depend on it. Sometimes there is too much light, other
times there is not enough.  Without it we have no image. Light can expose
the good and it can expose the bad.  Sounds a little like life.

When creating an image I find myself torn at times.  I’d like to think that
most of the time I’m creating a piece of art that will move or inspires the
viewer.  I have to admit it though, far too often I more concerned with how
the photograph will make me look.   Is the composition OK, do I have the
proper exposure, or what kind of a compliment will it generate?

There are also times that I lack inspiration (like in the winter).  The
possibilities are endless but being so familiar with the place I live there
are times I don’t as they say “see the forest for the trees”.   Maybe it’s
not even inspiration as much as it is imagination.   There are times it is
just easier to take a picture of something just for the sake of saying I
did.

I’m not sure who this is for or if it is even for anyone but me.  I’ve had
a rough week, and I have had some failures to endure; some photographically
for clients, some personally and some spiritually.   It’s all been a
journey and a learning experience.  Not pleasant experiences but they have
taught me so much.

It’s a cliché, but it’s true. Life is a journey and it is the light that
helps us to see the good and bad.  The mistakes we make are a path to
learning.   As a photographer I still have a lot to learn and I think most
of us, regardless of what we are seeking to do, could all likely say the
same thing.

Don’t let where you are determine where you want to be.

Friar’s Head, Campobello Island, New Brunswick

3 comments on “Shine

    • Thanks Chloe! I really do appreciate the compliment. I had a quick look at your site and you have some great stuff too. I’ll be back soon to check it out some more . Take care eh.

Leave a Reply

