The Fundy Isles – Campobello Island

Campobello Island is one of the other Fundy Isles that provides many interesting photographic possibilities.  This 70 square mile island is part of New Brunswick and accessible by ferry from Deer Island or directly by bridge from the town of Lubec Maine. The Bridge is called the Roosevelt International Bridge, after the late President Roosevelt. The President had a summer home on Campobello Island and it’s now a historical park. http://www.fdr.net/home

The Famous Fishing Boats of Campobello Island New Brunswick

I’ve visited the park on a couple of occasions and the President’s summer home is beautiful and interesting for those who appreciate history. I spent most of my last visit with my family walking the trails inside the park. All are beautiful and offer some fantastic views of the Island and the Bay of Fundy.  The must see part of the park is the beach, and especially the Friars Head.  This rock sculpture hugs the coast and shore line of the water.  I was fortunate to arrive at the golden hour on a clear evening so I was able to capture a few wonderful images before the sun had set.

Sunset behind Friar's Head

The Friar's Head looking over his bay

One of the most photographed lighthouses in the world, the East Quoddy Lighthouse, or also known as the Head Harbour Lighthouse is another famous tourist destination once you are on Campobello. Build in 1829, this is one of the oldest light houses in Canada. This lighthouse is set in an area that offers wonderful opportunities at sunrise and sunset as well as low and high tide. Unfortunately, the lighthouse is also famous for the individuals who risk traveling to the lighthouse too close to high tide and have been caught in the current.

East Quoddy Lighthouse

From fishing boats, to beaches and wildlife Campobello Island offers so much. Its charm is captivating and a refreshing break from busy city life. Getting there from bridge or boat just adds to its appeal.  The benefit of taking pictures on a small island like Campobello is being able to plan your day around where the sun and light is best. I also appreciate knowing that wherever I am on the island there is something beautiful to capture with my camera. It is island hopping at its best.

6 comments on “The Fundy Isles – Campobello Island

    • Thank you for the note Frank. You are right on the flare. I did touch up Friar’s Head some but the flare was pretty heavy. I still like the image and decided to post it. If you have any techniques you use to reduce flare post process please share. Thx!

  1. I too like lens flare on occasion and this is a pretty shot. I am a bit to inexperienced to avoid it, even with a lens hood. I have noticed you and another photographer talking about the importance of the ‘air’ in an image. Since you live where there is a lot of fog, it does seem very important to your shots. I was wondering if you could elaborate on this sometime. Does it affect sky color? Is it for color saturation on clear days? I have heard pros mention it often and never quite understood how the air quality affects and image. Maybe thick air particles like smog? Would love for you to post on this sometime, Brian.

    • Donna,
      Thank you for your input on the photograph of Friars Head. Flare is tricky… How much is too much? I’m a bit of a minimalist when it comes to editing. No offense to those who are good at it. Editing is part of the art now and I have no problem with those who spend a lot of time doing it. I’m actually a little jealous of those who do excel at it. I tend to still shoot like I’m using film. The image is what it is. Depends on your point of view I guess if that is a good or bad philosophy.

      Thank you as well for the suggestion on the topic. I’ll likely take you up on the suggestion sometime soon.

  2. Hi, we are the marketing company, Topology Travel which specialized in marketing Travel in Real Taiwan to the world.
    We are currently in the process of publish and share the travel quotes with meaningful pictures where we hope to have pictures from a wide range of people that love and are involved in travel. I recently came across your blog and would like to get your permission on using the photo in your blog to share in our Facebook page. We would of course include the photo resources at the bottom of each photo we use to share in Facebook. Please feel free to visit our website at http://www.topologytravel.com and Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Topology-Travel-in-Real-Taiwan/289071267788001?ref=ts

    Best Regards,
    Chris

    • Hi Chris,

      I’m OK with you using my photograph. I appreciate you asking for permission and offering to give credit. Please let me know once it is posted and send me another link.

      Again, I appreciate you asking first.

Leave a Reply

