Running Water

“Why, anyone by just giving you a cup of water in my name is on our side. Count on it that God will notice.” Mark 9:41 

This past Thursday, March 22nd was World Water Day. I was reminded to take a moment to appreciate where I live and be thankful for the easy access to water that I have. It took me a while, but I have come to really appreciate having a place next to the Atlantic Ocean and living in The Maritimes. Living where I do I’m very fortunate that I can see, hear, and smell the ocean right from my home.

During the week I couldn’t help but feel a sense of sadness, and at the same time wonder about the cruel irony in the stories I’ve read. In Africa there are 13 million people whose lives are in danger everyday because they lack the water they need to survive. Then, I read a story about a town, not far from me, that is facing a state of emergency because the spring thaw has caused a river to swell and flood out the residents.  Not enough water in one place and too much in another.

As a nature photographer I’m inspired by beauty of nature all around me and have a deep respect for the force it has. At the same time, like many others, I have a concern about the events that are happening around the world and the effects that they are having on those who are unable help themselves.  It was this concern that motivated my wife and I to make the decision to sponsor a little boy in a developing country. We wanted to make sure that something as simple as clean water was never going to be a concern to him.

World Water Day was a timely reminder for me that my photography is not just about making money, it`s about the message. As I have said before, it is my sincere hope as you view my images you marvel at God’s handiwork and take the time to appreciate and protect it. It was also a good reminder that it is not just enough to spread the message, but I have to live it.

8 comments on “Running Water

  1. Nice work here, Brian. Wouldn’t mind seeing it darker, at least on my Mac. There I go again, being annoyingly picky! 🙂

    BTW, I work for an organization that has, thanks to our donors, supplied long-term safe drinking water to more than a million people!

  2. I must be seeing your darker version because it looks very fine on my Mac. Your words and sentiments about the plight in some areas over water are very well expressed, not to mention your action on the issue as well. I often write about water and feel the way that you do on the inequity of it around the world.

Leave a Reply

