The Strait and Narrow

Parlee Beach is located along the Northumberland Strait and sits on the eastern shore of New Brunswick. It is one of the big attractions in the town of Shediac for the locals and tourist. They say it’s the warmest saltwater for swimming north of Virginia, but I’m sure it’s all relative. No matter what anyone says, I wasn’t going swimming with a wind-chill of minus 3 when I visited a few weeks ago. Despite the cold temperatures it was an impressive view of the Northumberland Strait and the incredible beach. If you are going to swim in the Atlantic Ocean this is likely one of the best locations in New Brunswick, but July or August might make it a little more enjoyable.

The Strait and Narrow

7 comments on “The Strait and Narrow

  1. You photos really give the feeling of the place. I don’t get the vibe of warm at all. As inviting as it is to most, I would not like cold ocean water. The scenery is stunning. You live in such a wonderful place. What is the bird in your header?

    • Thank you Donna. It was pretty cold even for April. The bird is a Greater Yellowlegs as far as I can tell. I’m not a birdwatcher but from the books and photos I’ve seen online I believe that is what it is.

Leave a Reply

