Trap Door

My wife and I rented a cottage in Seal Cove on Grand Manan in April of 1994, but the weather prevented us from exploring the area. Earlier this month the weather was much better and my family was able to get out and see the area and to meet some of the locals. Seal Cove provides one of the nicest beaches on the whole island, but for me it was the colourful architecture of this old fishing community that I enjoyed the most.

Fishing plays a large part in the lives of those who live on Grand Manan. Herring Fishing along with Lobster fishing and harvesting dulse have been a way of life for many generations. These buildings were built in the late 1800’s and early 1900’s and their design, creative use of color provided an abundance of photographic subjects. I love the way the builders incorporated the sides of the lobster traps next to the red door. This might be my favourite photograph from the trip.

"Trap Door"

“Trap Door”

7 comments on “Trap Door

  1. One thing I noticed and liked in fishing communities is the use of bright primary colors. I think all that fog makes them want/need to see bright. Nice photo, Brian. I like the repetition. That is also something I noticed about fishing communities, lots and lots of the same items, like colorfully painted lobster buoys.

Leave a Reply

