Parting Shot

I have friends who think photos of sunset are overdone, but for me there is something majestic about a photograph of a sunset or sunrise. A new beginning, or a perfect ending to the day. The anticipation of shooting the sun breaking the horizon or falling behind it never gets old. In that short window of time I’m continually awestruck by the awesomeness in one of God’s miraculous wonders. That giant ball of fire reflecting off the clouds in the sky can’t help but can capture the attention of all; young, old, photographer and non photographer alike.

A few weeks ago I spent the day driving and walking along the coastline of the Bay of Fundy. My journey began in Garnett Settlement and my day concluded in St. Martins, New Brunswick. This 30km stretch of back-roads and highway is one of the most scenic areas that I’ve driven and one of my favourite places to visit every year. I’m continually drawn to the magnificent beaches along with the rugged and rocky coastlines. Each visit brings me back to a familiar area but I’m always introduced to something new that I’ve missed before.

"Half-Light" - The sun setting behind the coastline in St. Martins New Brunswick

“Half-Light” – The sun setting behind the coastline in St. Martins, New Brunswick

After spending six to eight hours chasing light and shadows it seems only appropriate to finish the day by making images of the setting sun. I love the intensity, texture and shapes created by the light and once it’s gone the only thing left for me is the excitement of seeing the images I recorded. It’s the end to a perfect day.

2 comments on “Parting Shot

Leave a Reply

