Eternal Winter

The days are getting longer. The temperature is rising. The end of winter must be near. Right?

"Evening Shiver" - Lepreau River, NB

“Evening Shiver” – Lepreau River, NB

Winter has seemed extra long, snowy and cold this year, and yet, at the same time the scenery has been magnificent. This has been one of the best winters for photography. Frosty ice storms and the mountains of snow have created some beautiful subjects.

"Hay There"

“Hay There” – Central Bedeque, PEI

For the last month or so my friends and neighbours have been a chorus of voices asking for the warmer weather to arrive and an end to the snow and freezing temperatures. I admit, there have been weeks when winter has seemed long; especially when shovelling a foot of snow or trying to manoeuvre around the icy streets. I know the calendar says that winter is coming to a close, but it’s certainly not going quietly. This past week Eastern Canada experience what some are calling a winter hurricane and the worst driving conditions I have ever experienced. For good measure we received another ice storm today and a third consecutive snow day for the kids. The last four months have been intense, but there is still a little part of me that is sad to see the end of winter.

6 comments on “Eternal Winter

    • Thanks again Frank. I always like to hear from you and get your thoughts.

      I did fire off about 6 or 7 shots but it was a brief stop while on drive with my daughter during a hockey tournament. So it was a pretty quick session. I was also working on keeping some power lines out of the shot and trekking in some deep snow in my sneakers so my toes were telling me to get back to the car. 🙂

Leave a Reply

