Fisher of Men – An Easter Art Project

Bay of Fundy, Deer Island New Brunswick

Bay of Fundy, Deer Island New Brunswick

About 2 months ago I received an invitation by my pastor to take part in an Easter art project at our church. I felt extremely honoured to be asked, and jumped at the opportunity to work with such a diverse group artist. Those involved displayed talents in woodworking, pencil sketches, paintings, poetry, music and pottery. All of our work was incorporated into an annual event our church host on Good Friday called “Journey to the Cross”, as well as the Good Friday Service.

The idea was to share a piece of art that depicted the events Good Friday. After a short time searching images on my laptop I came across this image from the fall of 2010 I entitled “Fisher of Men”. Normally it is the colours and light that I’m drawn to when creating a photograph, but for this scene in Deer Island it was the cross. I’m not sure if it has a specific purpose for the local fishermen but the cross represented so much more to me and my faith and why I placed it in the center of everything.

9 comments on “Fisher of Men – An Easter Art Project

Leave a Reply

