Trouble in Paradise

"The Cove" - Paradise Island, Bahamas.

“The Cove” – Paradise Island, Bahamas.

My wife and I celebrated our 20th anniversary last month in the Bahamas and enjoyed some absolutely spectacular scenery on the resort. Off the resort the scenery was still fantastic, but at times I was saddened by the condition of environment and amount of litter on the beaches and in the water. On a few occasions I saw some of the locals treat the water around the wharf like a giant trash can and I continually thought to myself “don’t they realize what they are doing to this paradise”.

As the days have gone by and I’ve edited my photographs from our trip the thoughts of the trash on the beaches and in the ocean have continued to distress me, until recently. As I’ve started photographing around my own home town I’ve realized the people in my area are no different than those in the Bahamas.

"The Veil" - Welsford, New Brunswick

“The Veil” – Welsford, New Brunswick

A few weeks ago I was hiking though the woods looking for this waterfall and during my walk came across several piles of trash along the paths in the woods, some of it right next the falls itself. It was at this point I started to feel a bit of remorse for the thoughts I had while we were visiting the Bahamas because I realized how hypocritical I was being in my judgment of the local people when they are no different than those of us in the north. We tend to think of paradise being a tropical location but the truth is the God has created the whole Earth and there is fragility and beauty to be found everywhere, not just where the white sandy beaches are.

 

 

4 comments on “Trouble in Paradise

Leave a Reply

