The Sound of a Photograph

Photography is usually considered a visual art, and typically my inspiration comes from the scenery that is all around. My favorite subjects are the coastlines, beaches, lakes, rivers and wildlife that are near my home. I love to explore the back roads and rural areas outside the city while looking for interesting new subjects.

"Dusk Waves" - Bay of Fundy, Saint John.

“Dusk Waves” – Bay of Fundy, Saint John.

A few months ago I was on a walk with my wife and daughter. We could hear the sound of the waves crashing on the beach and we decided to take a closer look. The setting sun and the sound of the bay created the perfect inspiration. It was a few days later while editing that I realized if I hadn’t heard the waves that day I likely would not have gone to the beach  and would have missed this moment.

Not only did I come home with an unexpected image, I also learned that it is just as important to listen as it is to look when seeking new images.

6 comments on “The Sound of a Photograph

Leave a Reply

